Book Review: Dreamsongs Volume I by George R.R. Martin


About the book:

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, #1 New York Timesbestselling author George R.R. Martin is a giant in the field of fantasy literature and one of the most exciting storytellers of our time. Now he delivers a rare treat for readers: a compendium of his shorter works, collected into two stunning volumes, that offer fascinating insight into his journey from young writer to award-winning master.
Gathered here in Volume I are the very best of George R.R. Martin’s early works, including never-before-published fan pieces, his Hugo, Nebula, and Bram Stoker Award-winning stories plus the original novella The Ice Dragon, from which Martin’s New York Times bestselling children’s book of the same title originated. A dazzling array that features extensive author commentary, Dreamsongs, Volume I , is the perfect collection for both Martin devotees and a new generation of fans.


I had never read anything but ASOIAF of GRRM. I didn’t know what to expect. There were many wonderful stories in this book! Some of my favorites were: Meathouse Man (1976) novelette, The Monkey Treatment (1983) novelette, and The Pear-Shaped Man (1987) novelette.

Sandkings (1979) novelette Was a fantastic story. Loved the plot a characters is this short. You could defenitly see great things were to come from Martin in the future. The Ice Dragon (1980) novelette was also outstanding. A prelude to the greatness of ASOIAF for sure.

Overall a very solid book that I would recommend. Mr. Martin deserves his reputation as the great writer he is!

4/5 Stars


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s