Book Review: The Night Angel Trilogy (Night Angel #1-3) by Brent Weeks



About the book:


The omnibus edition of New York Times bestselling author Brent Weeks’ blockbuster NIGHT ANGEL TRILOGY. With over one million copies in print, Brent Weeks has become one of the fastest selling new fantasy authors of all time. For Durzo Blint, assassination is an art – and he is the city’s most accomplished artist. For Azoth, survival is just the beginning. He was raised on the streets and knows an opportunity when he sees one – even when the risks are as high as working for someone like Durzo Blint. Azoth must learn to navigate the assassins’ world of dangerous politics and strange magics – and become the perfect killer. THE NIGHT ANGEL TRILOGY, one of the most popular epic fantasy series in recent years, is compiled into one volume for the first time. Included in this omnibus edition are: The Way of Shadows, Shadow’s Edge, and Beyond the Shadows.

Amazon link:




About the author:

Brent Weeks was born and raised in Montana. After getting his paper keys from Hillsdale College, Brent had brief stints walking the earth like Caine from Kung Fu, tending bar, and corrupting the youth. (Not at the same time.) He started writing on bar napkins, then on lesson plans, then full time. Eventually, someone paid him for it. Brent lives in Oregon with his wife, Kristi. He doesn’t own cats or wear a ponytail.





Book 1 The Way of Shadows

I had heard many things about this trilogy and Brent Weeks, all of it good. I didn’t Know if it would be for me or not. Not always into the assassin (Sorry, Wet Boy) thing. I was enthralled by the story and characters. So much so that I bought this trilogy with my X-mas gift card, after checking out the first book from my local library. Mr. Weeks writing is fantastic along with the world he has created. Outstanding characters ( Durzo Blint is perfect!). I can’t wait to read the rest of Kylar’s/Azoth’s story.

Book 2 Shadow’s Edge

I was highly anticipating the continuation of Kylar’s/Azoth’s story. I was slightly disappointed. This book was still very good but somewhat of a letdown from the first book. Mr. Weeks writing continues to be top notch, along with his worldbuilding, and characters. I am excited to start the last book, with this books cliffhanger ending it should be a fun ride!

Book 3 Beyond the Shadows

Wow! What a great ending to a great series. Mr. Weeks continued to deliver fantastic writing, wonderful characters that you truly care about, and a great world that it is all set in. Not to mention the interesting magic system in these books. Overall I would have to say I am very satisfied with this series. I enjoyed these books so much and I am excited to start Mr. Weeks next series (Lightbringer).

Go out and get all Brent Weeks books (Night Angel Triogy, and Lightbringer series) from Orbit books! You won’t be disappointed!

Reviews for the Lightbringer series coming soon!

4/5 Stars




One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s