Wednesday is Odin’s day or what I want Wednesday: The Faithful and the Fallen series by John Gwynne

Wednesday is Odin’s day or what I want Wednesday (WIWW). It’s that time of the week again where I will spotlight some new release books or just some books that I really want.

This week I want to spotlight The Faithful and the Fallen series by John Gwynne . I have been wanting to read this series for a while now. The first book is Malice: Book One of The Faithful and the Fallen, the second Valor (The Faithful and the Fallen Book 2)and the third book Ruin (The Faithful and the Fallen) is due out October 13, 2015. These all look like awesome books! I have heard nothing but great things about this series. I have not been able to secure any copies of these books yet but I hope I can soon, As I would love to read and review!

 Malice: Book One of The Faithful and the Fallen, and Valor (The Faithful and the Fallen Book 2) are out NOW!

 Ruin (The Faithful and the Fallen) is due out October 13, 2015.

So get yourself a copy!


About the books:


Ruin (The Faithful and the Fallen)

  • Series: The Faithful and the Fallen (Book 3)
  • Paperback: 704 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (October 13, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316386324
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316386326
The Banished Lands are engulfed in war and chaos.
The cunning Queen Rhin has conquered the west and High King Nathair has the cauldron, most powerful of the seven treasures. At his back stands the scheming Calidus and a warband of the Kadoshim, dread demons of the Otherworld. They plan to bring Asroth and his host of the Fallen into the world of flesh, but to do so they need the seven treasures. Nathair has been deceived but now he knows the truth. He has choices to make, choices that will determine the fate of the Banished Lands.
Elsewhere the flame of resistance is growing – Queen Edana finds allies in the swamps of Ardan. Maquin is loose in Tenebral, hunted by Lykos and his corsairs. Here he will witness the birth of a rebellion in Nathair’s own realm.
Corban has been swept along by the tide of war. He has suffered, lost loved ones, sought only safety from the darkness. But he will run no more. He has seen the face of evil and he has set his will to fight it. The question is, how?
With a disparate band gathered about him – his family, friends, giants, fanatical warriors, an angel and a talking crow he begins the journey to Drassil, the fabled fortress hidden deep in the heart of Forn Forest. For in Drassil lies the spear of Skald, one of the seven treasures, and here it is prophesied that the Bright Star will stand against the Black Sun.
  • Series: Faithful and the Fallen (Book 2)
  • Paperback: 688 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (July 22, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316399744
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316399746
War has erupted in the Banished Lands as the race for power intensifies.
Corban flees his homeland searching for peace, but he soon discovers that there is no haven in the west as the agents of Rhin and roaming bands of giants hound his every step.
Veradis leaves the battleground and rushes to his King’s side. But he has witnessed both combat and betrayal and his duty weighs heavily upon him.
Maquin seeks only revenge, but pirate slavers and the brutal world of pit-fighting stand in his way.
Nathair becomes embroiled in the wars of the west as Queen Rhin marches against King Owain. The need to find the cauldron of the giants drives him on.
Sides are chosen and oaths will be fulfilled or broken in a land where hell has broken loose.
  • Series: The Faithful and the Fallen (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 656 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (December 3, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316399736
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316399739

The world is broken…
Corban wants nothing more than to be a warrior under King Brenin’s rule – to protect and serve. But that day will come all too soon. And the price he pays will be in blood.
Evnis has sacrificed – too much it seems. But what he wants – the power to rule — will soon be in his grasp. And nothing will stop him once he has started on his path.
Veradis is the newest member of the warband for the High Prince, Nathair. He is one of the most skilled swordsman to come out of his homeland, yet he is always under the shadow of his older brother.
Nathair has ideas – and a lot of plans. Many of them don’t involve his father, the High King Aquilus. Nor does he agree with his father’s idea to summon his fellow kings to council.
The Banished Lands has a violent past where armies of men and giants clashed in battle, but now giants are seen, the stones weep blood and giant wyrms are stirring. Those who can still read the signs see a threat far greater than the ancient wars. For if the Black Sun gains ascendancy, mankind’s hopes and dreams will fall to dust…

About the author:

I was born in Singapore while my dad was stationed there in the RAF. Up until he retired that meant a lot of traveling around, generally a move every three years or so.
I live with my wife and four wonderful (and demanding) children in East Sussex. Also three dogs, two of which will chew anything that stands still. I have had many strange and wonderful jobs, including packing soap in a soap factory, waitering in a french restaurant in Canada, playing double bass in a rock n roll band, and lecturing at Brighton University.
I stepped out of university work due to my daughter’s disability, so now I split my time caring for her and working from home – I work with my wife rejuvenating vintage furniture, which means fixing, lifting, carrying, painting and generally doing what my wife tells me to do…
And somehow during this time I started writing. I’ve always told my children stories at bed-time, and they pestered long and hard for me to write some of it down. At the same time I felt that my brain was switching off a little – vintage furniture is my wife’s passion, whereas my passions are geekier!
That’s how The Banished Lands and Malice began, though along the way it became more than just a hobby. I’m still in shock that it is actually a real book, rather than just pages on my desk.
So far two books of a planned four have been published in the Faithful and the Fallen series – Malice and Valor. Malice, to my immense surprise and joy, won the David Gemmell Morningstar Award for Best Debut Fantasy of 2012.
You can find me online at


  1. For some reason, I thought this series was going to be a trilogy. So last year when BN had one of those 2-for-1 deals I picked the first two ups books, expecting I could read through them before Ruin came out. As we all know though, I was wrong then XD
    I am looking forward to reading this series though when I hear of the final books release.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s