New books received: Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson


New books received: MistbornThe Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson

The awesome folks over at Tor books were nice enough to send me some copies of these books to read and review! They are always so good to me, and I love them for it!

I have been wanting to read these books forever it seems. I have read and reviewed The Alloy of Law (Mistborn #4).  I thought that book was fantastic and I am excited to read the first three books. I am a huge Brandon Sanderson fan and have also read and reviewed The Way of Kings and Words of RadianceAll of my reviews can be found on my Book Review Index page. I am very excited to read and review this trilogy, so keep an eye out!

Thanks Tor Books!

All of these great books are out NOW! So go get some and start your own Brandon Sanderson obsession like me!

Shadows of Self  Mistborn (Book 5) is out October 6, 2015!


About the books:


Mistborn: The Final Empire

  • Series: Mistborn (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 672 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Teen; Reprint edition (May 13, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765377136
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765377135

#1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson’s epic Mistborn Trilogy begins.

Once, a hero rose to save the world. He failed. For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably. Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and defeating the Lord Ruler. A new kind of uprising is being planned–one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine: a teenage street urchin named Vin. Once, a hero rose to save the world and failed. This time, can a young heroine succeed?


The Well of Ascension: Book Two of Mistborn

  • Series: Mistborn (Book 2)
  • Paperback: 784 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Teen (August 5, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765377144
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765377142

#1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson’s epic Mistborn Trilogy continues with The Well of Ascension.

They did the impossible, deposing the godlike being whose brutal rule had lasted a thousand years. Now Vin, the street urchin who has grown into the most powerful Mistborn in the land, and Elend Venture, the idealistic young nobleman who loves her, must build a healthy new society in the ashes of an empire. They have barely begun when three separate armies attack. As the siege tightens, an ancient legend seems to offer a glimmer of hope. But even if it really exists, no one knows where to find the Well of Ascension or what manner of power it bestows. It may just be that killing the Lord Ruler was the easy part. Surviving the aftermath of his fall is going to be the real challenge.


The Hero of Ages: Book Three of Mistborn

  • Series: Mistborn (Book 3)
  • Paperback: 768 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Teen; Reprint edition (October 7, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765377152
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765377159

The Hero of Ages is the thrilling conclusion to the epic fantasy Mistborn Trilogy for ages 13 and up by the #1 New York Times bestselling author, Brandon Sanderson. This epic fantasy adventure begins with Mistborn.

To end the Final Empire and restore freedom, Vin killed the Lord Ruler. But as a result, the Deepness—the lethal form of the ubiquitous mists—is back, along with increasingly heavy ashfalls and ever more powerful earthquakes. Humanity appears to be doomed. Having escaped death at the climax of The Well of Ascension only by becoming a Mistborn himself, Emperor Elend Venture hopes to find clues left behind by the Lord Ruler that will allow him to save the world. Vin is consumed with guilt at having been tricked into releasing the mystic force known as Ruin from the Well. Ruin wants to end the world, and its near omniscience and ability to warp reality make stopping it seem impossible. She can’t even discuss it with Elend lest Ruin learn their plans! The conclusion of the Mistborn trilogy fulfills all the promise of the first two books. Revelations abound, connections rooted in early chapters of the series click into place, and surprises, as satisfying as they are stunning, blossom like fireworks to dazzle and delight. It all leads up to a finale unmatched for originality and audacity that will leave readers rubbing their eyes in wonder, as if awaking from an amazing dream.

About the author:

Brandon Sanderson was born in 1975 in Lincoln, Nebraska. As a child Brandon enjoyed reading, but he lost interest in the types of titles often suggested to him, and by junior high he never cracked a book if he could help it. This changed when an eighth grade teacher gave him Dragonsbane by Barbara Hambly.

The only author to make the short list for the David Gemmell Legend Award six times in four years, Brandon won that award in 2011 for The Way of Kings. The Emperor’s Soul won the 2013 Hugo Award for Best Novella. He has appeared on the New York Times Best-Seller List multiple times, with five novels hitting the #1 spot.

Currently living in Utah with his wife and children, Brandon teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s