Guest Blog: The Magic of Extra Book Episodes by Gail Z. Martin

As part of my Guest blog series for authors and fellow bloggers I am proud to present another guest blog spot. Gail Z. Martin the author of The Shadowed Path has been kind enough to write a guest blog post for MightyThorJRS today. I am very excited and I would like to thank Gail for the opportunity to host this Guest Blog. 

 The Shadowed Path: A Jonmarc Vahanian Collection

by Gail Z. Martin is out NOW!

So go grab a copy!

The Magic of Extra Book Episodes


by Gail Z. Martin 

I’ll be the first to admit that having six different fictional series in various stages can be a little chaotic.

My newest book, The Shadowed Path (Solaris Books) is the first new installment in my Chronicles of the Necromancer series in five years. It’s a collection of the first ten Jonmarc Vahanian Adventures short stories (plus an exclusive eleventh story) that traces Jonmarc’s backstory and is something of a prequel to The Summoner. I started writing the Jonmarc short stories several years ago, fully intending them to add up to three serialized novels about Jonmarc’s past, explaining how he came to be the man we meet in the novels. 

With Shadow and Flame, the fourth and final novel in my Ascendant Kingdoms Saga series (Orbit Books), I wrap up the main story arc for the Blaine McFadden books. But I’ve also brought out three novellas so far in Blaine’s universe that help to fill in a six-year gap at the beginning of Ice Forged and which tell the story of Blaine’s convict years before the first book in the series gets underway. Those Blaine McFadden Adventures are collected as The King’s Convicts (and also available individually), and I plan to have three more novellas soon that tell the story of Blaine and his friends as colonists on Edgeland.

In the Iron & Blood Steampunk universe that is co-authored with my husband, Larry N. Martin, we also have series extension short stories and novellas, the Storm and Fury Adventures, tracing the additional exploits of Mitch Storm and Jacob Drangosavich, agents with the Department of Supernatural Investigation. 

And in my Deadly Curiosities dark urban fantasy series, in addition to the two novels, there are also a growing number of short stories and novellas that are additional ‘episodes’, ten of which are now collected in Trifles and Folly, part of the Modern Magic 12-book, 13-author ebook boxed set (and also available individually online).

And the other two series? My new ‘epically epic, epic fantasy that cannot yet be named’ is a brand new series coming out from Solaris Books in 2017 which I’m not allowed to talk about yet, but I’m just now finishing up the first book. And the other is a space series that is just getting started.

What this means is that I’m constantly beginning and ending story arcs, but thanks to today’s publishing options, series never have to end so long as readers demonstrate interest in additional adventures and willingness to purchase new material.

I really enjoy creating the extra, bite-sized short stories and novellas and seeing the characters experience new adventures. The extended stories enable me to share more back story, introduce secondary  characters and deepen the relationships and world-building beyond what’s possible in the main novels. Even in my 600-page epic fantasy novels, there’s a limited amount of space I can allot to back story and world-building, and many adventures that just don’t fit with the main story arc. The extra stories/novellas enable me to share those, and give readers new content between and around new releases.

When characters resonate with readers, it’s wonderful to be able to keep new adventures coming and to build out their world. I’m looking forward to keeping the beginnings and extensions going, so endings don’t ever have to be forever.

Check out The Shadowed Path, my newest epic fantasy collection of Jonmarc Vahanian short stories in paperback and ebook from Solaris Books. And be sure to also look for Modern Magic: Twelve Tales of Urban Fantasy, a 12 book, 13 author ebook boxed set including Trifles and Folly, the first-ever collection of 10 Deadly Curiosities Adventures short stories!

About the Author


Gail Z. Martin is the author of The Shadowed Path (Solaris Books), Vendetta: A Deadly Curiosities Novel in her urban fantasy series set in Charleston, SC (Solaris Books); Shadow and Flame the fourth and final book in the Ascendant Kingdoms Saga (Orbit Books); and Iron and Blood a new Steampunk series (Solaris Books) co-authored with Larry N. Martin.

She is also author of Ice Forged, Reign of Ash and War of Shadows in The Ascendant Kingdoms Saga, The Chronicles of The Necromancer series (The Summoner, The Blood King, Dark Haven, Dark Lady’s Chosen); The Fallen Kings Cycle (The Sworn, The Dread) and the urban fantasy novel Deadly Curiosities.  Gail writes three ebook series: The Jonmarc Vahanian Adventures, The Deadly Curiosities Adventures and The Blaine McFadden Adventures. The Storm and Fury Adventures, steampunk stories set in the Iron & Blood world, are co-authored with Larry N. Martin.

Her work has appeared in over 30 US/UK anthologies. Newest anthologies include: Robots, The Big Bad 2, Athena’s Daughters, Heroes, Space, Contact Light, With Great Power, The Weird Wild West, The Side of Good/The Side of Evil, Alien Artifacts, Cinched: Imagination Unbound, Realms of Imagination, Gaslight and Grimm, Baker Street Irregulars, Clockwork Universe: Steampunk vs. Aliens.

Gail Z. Martin

New in 2016

Modern Magic: Tales of Urban Fantasy 12 author ebook boxed set

The Shadowed Path: A Jonmarc Vahanian Collection

Vendetta: A Deadly Curiosities novel

Shadow and Flame: Book 4 in The Ascendant Kingdoms Saga

Shadowed Path

These are the untold tales of Jonmarc Vahanian, hero of Gail Z. Martin’s best-selling Chronicles of the Necromancer series.

Jonmarc Vahanian was just a blacksmith’s son in a small fishing village before raiders killed his family. Wounded and left for dead in the attack, Jonmarc tries to rebuild his life. But when a dangerous bargain with a shadowy stranger goes wrong, Jonmarc finds himself on the run, with nothing ahead but vengeance, and nothing behind him but blood.

Soldier. Fight slave. Smuggler. Warrior. Brigand lord.  If you’ve met Jonmarc Vahanian in the Chronicles of the Necromancer and Fallen Kings Cycle books, you don’t really know him until you walk in his footsteps. This is the first segment of his journey.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s