Book Haul: Soul of the World by David Mealing

The wonderful people over at Orbit were awesome enough to send me a copy of this fantastic book! Thanks Orbit! I can’t wait to read and review!

Soul of the World (The Ascension Cycle)

by David Mealing

IS OUT June 27, 2017!

So go get your copy!

 

 


 

 

20170604_141749

 

 

20170604_141740

 

 


 

 

51vGtPWurcL

Soul of the World (The Ascension Cycle)

by David Mealing

Three lines of magic must be conquered and three heroes must rise in the first book of this epic fantasy trilogy for fans of Mistborn and The Name of the Wind!

 

It is a time of revolution. In the cities, food shortages stir citizens to riots against the crown. In the wilds, new magic threatens the dominance of the tribes. and on the battlefields, even the most brilliant commanders struggle in the shadow of total war. Three lines of magic must be mastered in order to usher in a new age, and three heroes must emerge.
Sarine is an artist on the streets of New Sarresant whose secret familiar helps her uncover bloodlust and madness where she expected only revolutionary fervor.
Arak’Jur wields the power of beasts to keep his people safe, but his strength cannot protect them from war amongst themselves.
Erris is a brilliant cavalry officer trying to defend New Sarresant from an enemy general armed with magic she barely understands.

Each must learn the secrets of their power in time to guide their people through ruin. But a greater evil may be trying to stop them.

Start reading this gripping, vibrant, and imaginative addition to the epic fantasy canon for readers of Brandon Sanderson, Brian McClellan, and Miles Cameron.

“The first book in The Ascension Cycle is an impressive fantasy debut with three main compelling characters and a unique magic system sure to capture a fantasy reader’s attention . . . . Mealing does a fabulous job with the intricate world-building and leaves the reader wanting to get their hands on the sequel.”―RT Book Reviews

“Imaginative and elaborate epic fantasy debut . . . Strong characters and rich worldbuilding.” ―Publishers Weekly

About the Author

David Mealing grew up adoring all things fantasy. He studied philosophy, politics and economics at the University of Oxford, where he taught himself to write by building worlds and stories for pen & paper RPGs. He lives in Washington state with his wife and three daughters, and aspires to one day own a ranch in the middle of nowhere.
————————————————-

  3 comments for “Book Haul: Soul of the World by David Mealing

  1. June 27, 2017 at 3:51 pm

    I Just finished Soul of the World, it was quite good and I hope to have the review up this week. I highly recommend you check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 27, 2017 at 3:58 pm

      Awesome! Good to hear! I will definitely have to check it out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: